CPSU, the Community and Public Sector Union SPSF Group

Western Australian Prison Officers' Union Branch (WAPOU)

ELECTION NOTICE - E2024/209

Casual Vacancy/Insufficient Nominations Election

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

Insufficient Nominations:

Northern Region Sub-Branches

Branch Council (Delegate to Branch Council):

- Bandyup Women's Prison (1)
- Eastern Goldfields Regional Prison (1)
- Greenough Regional Prison (2)
- Hakea Prison (3)
- Roebourne Regional Prison (1)
- West Kimberley Regional Prison (1)

Non-Northern Region Sub-Branches

Branch Council (Delegate to Branch Council):

- Acacia Prison (2)
- Albany Regional Prison (1)
- Boronia Pre-Release Centre (1)
- Bunbury Regional Prison (1)
- Casuarina Prison (2)
- Drug Detection Unit (1)
- Karnet Prison Farm (2)
- Melaleuca Womens' Prison (2)
- Special Operations Group (1)
- Wandoo Rehabilitation Prison (1)
- Wooroloo Prison Farm (1)

Casual Vacancy:

Non-Northern Region Sub-Branches

Branch Council (Delegate to Branch Council):

- Casuarina Prison (1)
- Wooroloo Prison Farm (1)
- Training Academy (1)

Nominations which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 05/02/2025.

Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 12:00 Noon (Australian Western Standard Time (AWST)) **on** 26/02/2025.

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to IEBnominations@aec.gov.au.

The subject line of your email should include: "E2024/209 - CPSU WAPOU - Your Name"

PLEASE NOTE:

- 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
- 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

Withdrawing Nominations

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12:00 Noon (Australian Western Standard Time (AWST)) on 26/02/2025.

Candidate Statements

Candidates may submit (in word format) a statement to be included with ballot material. As per rule 28.1(a), a candidate statement shall not exceed 200 words. Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 12:00 Noon (Australian Western Standard Time (AWST)) on 05/03/2025 can be accepted.

Closure of roll of voters

The roll of voter closes on 29/01/2025.

Voting Period

The ballot, if required, will open on 26/03/2025 and close at 10:00am (Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)) on 30/04/2025.

Replacement Voter Pack

If the postal vote pack is not received by 11 April 2025 voters may contact the AEC to request a replacement voter pack by calling 02 9375 6366 or 03 9285 7111 or by sending email to IEBevents@aec.gov.au. If you are on the Roll of voters, a replacement ballot pack will be sent by regular mail.

Scrutineers

The appointment of scrutineers closes 10:00am (Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)) on 30/04/2025.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now. The postal vote pack will be sent to your current postal address as provided to the AEC by your Organisation.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Hanish Gupta Returning Officer Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au

